Anesthesiology recognized as dental specialty

By staff writers

March 13, 2019 -- The U.S. National Commission on Recognition of Dental Specialties and Certifying Boards has announced that dental anesthesiology will become the 10th recognized dental specialty.

The commission adopted a resolution on March 11 after an application was received from the American Society of Dentist Anesthesiologists.

The commission was established by the ADA House of Delegates in 2017 to oversee the decision-making process for recognizing dental specialties, according to the ADA.

The first nine specialties were recognized in May 2018:

  • Dental public health
  • Endodontics
  • Oral and maxillofacial pathology
  • Oral and maxillofacial radiology
  • Oral and maxillofacial surgery
  • Orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics
  • Pediatric dentistry
  • Periodontics
  • Prosthodontics

Copyright © 2019

To read this and get access to all of the exclusive content on create a free account or sign-in now.

Member Sign In:
MemberID or email address:  
Do you have a password?
No, I want a free membership.
Yes, I have a password:  
Forgot your password?
Sign in using your social networking account:
Sign in using your social networking