2015 Shils award recipients named

The Dr. Edward B. Shils Entrepreneurial Fund has announced the recipients of the 2015 Shils Awards.

The awards recognize people, organizations, and programs that positively influence the dental community and public oral health, according to the organization. They are named after the late Edward B. Shils, PhD, JD, who was executive director of the Dental Manufacturers of America and the Dental Dealers of America for almost 50 years. He was also a professor and the chair of the management department at the University of Pennsylvania Wharton School.

Three awards were given:

  • The Shils-Meskin award: Named after Dr. Shils and Dr. Lawrence Meskin, dental educator and former dean of the University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine, the award is given to an individual of great character and modesty in the face of renowned achievement and well-deserved recognition.
  • The Shils Award: A monetary prize given to people and programs from all sectors of the healthcare community in recognition of their positive impact on the field and their respective communities.
  • The Special Recognition Award

The 2015 Shils-Meskin Award was given to Amid Ismail, BDS, DrPH, dean of the Maurice H. Kornberg School of Dentistry at Temple University. Dr. Ismail was recognized for being a global ambassador for oral health and demonstrating a lifelong commitment, dedication, and passion for the importance of oral health in all aspects of society.

The Shils Awards were presented to the following recipients:

  • Cecile Feldman, DMD, dean of the Rutgers School of Dental Medicine, for her commitment to training the next generation of dental care providers with a focus on cultural competency, access to care, and excellence in the school's clinical requirements
  • Kathleen O'Loughlin, DMD, executive director and chief operating officer of the ADA, for her leadership as a health educator, business executive, and professional society leaders, as well as her advocacy for improved oral health literacy, prevention, and care for underserved populations
  • The Ohio-based Children's Oral Health Network for its commitment to providing accessible and affordable oral healthcare to children in the Greater Cincinnati area

Joseph McManus, DDS, an associate clinical professor of dental medicine and the director of practice management at Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, received this year's Special Recognition Award. He is also the executive director of Columbia's Community DentCare Program, which offers comprehensive dental care to children ages 3 to 5 through school-based dental clinics and a mobile dental van that visits more than 80 locations in New York City.

Page 1 of 271
Next Page