Dr. Edward B. Shils Entrepreneurial Fund honors innovators

2020 03 05 19 48 2772 Trophy Award 400

Healthcare innovation nonprofit the Dr. Edward B. Shils Entrepreneurial Fund has recognized outstanding individuals, organizations, and programs at its 2020 Shils Awards ceremony.

The nonprofit and awards are named after Dr. Edward Shils, who worked to inspire healthcare entrepreneurs. The awards recognize efforts and innovations that positively affect community oral health.

Rear Adm. Dr. Timothy Ricks won the Special Recognition Award for his work during the COVID-19 pandemic. Ricks, who serves as assistant surgeon general and U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps (USPHS) chief dental officer, was recognized for his work to build an oral health collaborative between government agencies and public and private organizations to disseminate crucial public health information.

In addition, the Shils-Meskin Award went to Dr. Michael Alfano, professor, dean, and executive vice president emeritus at New York University. The Cohen-Volpe Award was given to Drs. D. Walter Cohen and Anthony Volpe.

The 2020 Shils Fund Innovator Awards also went to five individuals in public, nonprofit, and private organizations:

  • Dr. Richard Valachovic, former president of the American Dental Education Association (ADEA)
  • Robert Ganley, former CEO of Ivoclar Vivadent
  • Eve Cuny, RDA, and Kathy Eklund, RDH, from the Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP)
  • Dr. Blake Warner, PhD, from the U.S. National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research

Page 1 of 83
Next Page