2016 Shils award recipients named

The Dr. Edward B. Shils Entrepreneurial Fund has announced the recipients of the 2016 Shils Awards.

The 2016 Shils-Meskin Award was given to Lawrence Tabak, DDS, PhD, the principal deputy director and deputy ethics councilor of the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Tabak is the eighth person since 2002 to receive the Shils-Meskin Award.

Shils Awards were also presented to the following:

  • Laurie McCauley, DDS, PhD, dean of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry
  • Carolyn Primus, PhD, president of Avalon Biomed
  • Othman Shibly, DDS, director of the postgraduate program in periodontics for the University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine
  • Stephen and Sandra Sheller 11th Street Family Health Services

In addition, Sidney Whitman, DDS, director of pediatric dentistry at Newark Beth Israel Medical Center, received this year's Special Recognition Award for his advocacy and dedication to improving pediatric oral health.

The awards recognize people, organizations, and programs that positively influence the dental community and public oral health, according to the organization.

Page 1 of 221
Next Page