3 UCSF dental students receive ADEA scholarships

Three students from the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) School of Dentistry have received scholarships for excellence in preventive dentistry from the American Dental Education Association (ADEA).

Liguia Padilla, Chelsea Wong, and Jean Calyo each received a 2015 Preventive Dentistry Scholarship, which supports predoctoral students with a strong interest and academic achievement in preventive dentistry. Each scholarship recipient will have $2,500 applied to tuition and fees for predoctoral dental study.

For the scholarship, every U.S. dental school dean may nominate up to three students who demonstrate a strong interest in preventive dentistry through their personal activities and achievements and also possess a superior academic record. The ADEA awards 12 scholarships each year.

"It is extraordinary for all three nominees from a single school to receive the scholarship," John D.B. Featherstone, dean of the UCSF School of Dentistry, said in a press release. "What Ligia, Chelsea, and Jean have achieved is a testament to their exceptional quality as students. I could not be more proud of them."

The awards will be officially announced during the 2015 ADEA Annual Session and Exhibition in early March in Boston.

Page 1 of 344
Next Page