AMFDP accepting research grant applications for 2015

Applications are now being accepted for the 2015 Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program (AMFDP), which provides four-year postdoctoral research awards to junior dental faculty from historically disadvantaged backgrounds.

As part of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's (RWJF) ongoing efforts to increase diversity in health and healthcare, the program will offer 10 four-year postdoctoral research awards to qualifying physicians and dentists in 2015.

To increase the number of faculty from historically disadvantaged backgrounds, the awards are given to those who can achieve senior rank in academic medicine and dentistry and also encourage and foster the development of succeeding classes of such physicians and dentists, according to the foundation.

The 2015 scholars will receive an annual stipend of up to $75,000 each, complemented by a $30,000 annual grant toward support of research activities.

To be eligible for this award, applicants must be physicians or dentists who are from historically disadvantaged backgrounds (ethnic, financial, or educational), are U.S. citizens or permanent residents, and are completing or have completed their formal clinical training.

The program was renamed in 2003 in honor of Harold Amos, PhD, who was the first African American to chair a department at Harvard Medical School.

The deadline for receipt of completed applications is March 18, 2015. For more information, visit the RWJF website.

Page 1 of 344
Next Page