ADASRI, AADOCR honor evidence-based dentistry leaders

2020 02 26 23 19 1148 Dentists Young 400

The ADA Science & Research Institute (ADASRI) and the American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (AADOCR) have named winners of their awards for evidence-based dentistry (EBD).

The winners, who made significant contributions to implement and advance evidence-based dentistry, received their awards at the ADA's SmileCon 2021 meeting on October 12 in Las Vegas:

  • Dr. Margherita Fontana, PhD, from the University of Michigan School of Dentistry received the 2021 EBD Accomplished Faculty Award. Fontana emphasizes the use of evidence in active student learning activities.
  • Dr. Marcelle Nascimento, PhD, from the University of Florida College of Dentistry received the 2021 EBD Mid-Career Faculty Award. She empowers students to integrate evidence into clinical practice, and she studies the ammonia-producing capabilities of oral bacteria.
  • Dr. Brian NovĂ˝ from the Alliance Dental Center, Massachusetts Public Employees Fund, in Quincy received the 2021 EBD Practice Award. He conducts salivary assessments of his patients so he can monitor their oral health and use the results to inform treatment.
Page 1 of 117
Next Page