Florida Dental Association names officers

The Florida Dental Association (FDA) has elected a new slate of officers.

Charles Hoffman, D.M.D., Ph.D., was elected president. Dr. Hoffman, a general dentist, earned his dental degree at the University of Pittsburgh and his doctorate at the University of Virginia. He has served as president of both the North Palm Beach Dental Association and Atlantic Coast District Dental Association.

Dr. Hoffman also has served as a member of both the FDA and ADA's House of Delegates. In addition, he has served on the ADA Communication and Membership Reference Committee and as chairperson of the ADA Council on Membership. He has participated in many access-to-dental-care initiatives for underserved communities.

Larry Nissen, D.D.S., was elected president-elect. Dr. Nissen received his dental degree at the University of North Carolina and maintains an oral and maxillofacial surgery practice with locations in Merritt Island and Titusville. In addition to serving on many committees and councils of the FDA and the ADA, he is a past president of the Florida Dental Health Foundation and has served as chairperson of the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation. Dr. Nissen also currently serves on the Credentials Committee at Wuesthoff Hospital in Rockledge.

Cesar Sabates, D.D.S., was elected first vice president. Dr. Sabates, a general dentist, received his undergraduate degree in electrical engineering from the University of Miami and dental degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Dr. Sabates is a fellow of the American College of Dentists, the International College of Dentists, and the Pierre Fauchard Academy.

He is the past president of the South Florida District Dental Association, West Dade Dental Society, Latin American Academy of Osseointegrated Dental Implants, and the American Brotherhood of Latin Dentists. In addition, he is an active member of the FDA House of Delegates and a delegate to the ADA.

Kim Jernigan, D.M.D., was elected second vice president. Dr. Jernigan, a general dentist, received her undergraduate degree in preprofessional biology from the University of West Florida and doctor of dental medicine degree from the University of Florida College of Dentistry. She is on the Florida Dental Health Foundation Board of Directors as well as the FDA's Governmental Action Committee. In addition, she serves as the vice chairperson of the FDA delegation to the ADA and as an ADA national spokesperson regarding scope of practice.

Dr. Terry Buckenheimer, D.D.S., was elected secretary. Dr. Buckenheimer, a general dentist, received his undergraduate degree in biology from West Virginia University and earned his dental degree from the University of Pittsburgh. Dr. Buckenheimer is past president of the Hillsborough County Dental Association and has served the FDA as a delegate and on several committees and taskforces.

He is a board member and past president of the Florida Dental Health Foundation. Dr. Buckenheimer was instrumental in establishing Save that Smile, a program to ensure the use of mouthguards at children's sporting events. In addition, he co-authored the Foundation's Mouthwise education curriculum for Florida elementary and middle schools. Dr. Buckenheimer was named FDA Dentist of the Year in 2007.

Copyright © 2009 DrBicuspid.com

Page 1 of 100
Next Page